Version Française English version
 His origins  |  Travel to go  |  Diary  |  Volunteers 1870  |  Prospection  |  Factories & Industry  |  Travel to Canada  
Prospection (page 2)


Here is finally what concerns the nickel: It is along Dumbéa but also in the region of the Mont d'Or, as one can see it on the geologic map (seeing link) which accompanies the Study quoted in the beginning of this article where he notes : "The presence of 'silicates magnésien' strongly filled with a green 'nickélifère' substance which colors them and which, up to this day, one had mistaken for the chromium which, usually is plentiful in the very quartz … One meets nickel also in the same conditions, going with blackish serpentines, with nodules of green material; in Kanala, the nickel shows itself coloring strongly a 'silicate magnésien'.


It will be of a high interest to study more accurately nickel deposits in New Calédonia and to see if industry would not know how to take advantage of this metal of which price, as it is known, is rather high and use of which, however offers so many advantages in certain instances." This quotation is dated on March, 1867. JJGarnier adds "The Aluminum and the Nickel: Conference given before the French association for the promotion of Sciences. P. 15 and 16): " the color of these green rocks made me suspect the presence of the nickel especially since I had made sure that this tint was not due to copper. I brought back in France certain number of specimens of this green rocks and the scholars to whom I presented them: MM. Jannetaz who helped me in the classification of my samples and Terreil, chemist in the Museum, did not delay assuring me that I had discovered a real nickel ore.

While I was still in New Calédonia, I had sent to the Professor Dana, the famous mineralogist, some samples of this strange mineral; he wanted indeed to scrutinize them. These studies led him to notice that there were hydro-silicates of nickel and magnesia with defined composition, but more or less mixed with a ferruginous and siliceous gangue. [(Or, Mg) 3 Si 2 O5 (OH) 4] The ore was new, Dana published the description of it in his fifth edition of mineralogy in 1874 and wanted indeed to give my name to this ore "*

This does not prevent pseudo-historians or hurried and 'rough' journalists from presenting some character called Coste, rogue mine worker, as the inventor of the nickel for having started a demand of concessions in these well listed areas beforehand (as one has just seen it) at the bottom of the Mont d'Or and to name him "the king of the nickel". Other monarchies were distributed as that for John Higginson, brilliant speculator whose biographer considers that his action is motivated only by the search for fast profits and that, on the whole, it was negative for the colony. The ore once invented and clearly identified, one must agree: 1 ° to define the utility of it in the metal industry in a convincing way for all and 2 ° to work out the industrial processes of fusion and refining. To that JJGarnier applied immediately.

* If it were necessary t o create there a subject of controversy, it would be enough, to have a clear view upon it, to refer to the Library of " École des Mines of Paris ~Bulletin of the Society of Mineral Industries ~ " and to the 1892's article of Félix Benoît, Engineer, Controller of Mines, former chief of Mine's Service in New Caledonia' page 754 to 812).

 Previous page (1)      Next page (3) 
created by LusoDev                   Copyright ® 2007 - Dr. Jacques Le Sire - Tél. : +33 (0)6 89 30 06 07                     Links

Version Française English version
 Ses origines  |  Voyage aller  |  Journal de marche  |  Volontaires 1870  |  Prospection  |  Usines & industrie  |  Voyage au Canada  
Prospection (page 2)


Voici enfin ce qui concerne le nickel : C'est le long de la Dumbéa mais aussi dans la région du Mont d'or comme on le voit sur la carte géologique qui accompagne l'Étude citée en début de cet article qu'il note : "…la présence de silicates magnésiens fortement imprégnés d'une substance nickélifère verte qui les colore et que, jusqu'a ce jour, on avait prise pour du chrome qui, d'habitude est abondant dans le quartz lui-même… Le nickel se rencontre aussi dans les mêmes conditions, accompagnant des serpentines noirâtres, avec des nodules de matière verte ; à Kanala, le nickel se montre colorant fortement un silicate magnésien.


Il sera d'un haut intérêt d'étudier plus complètement les gisements de nickel en Nouvelle Calédonie et de voir si l'industrie ne saurait point tirer parti de ce métal dont le prix, comme on le sait est assez élevé et dont l'emploi, cependant offre tant d'avantages dans certains cas. " Cette citation est datée de mars 1867. JJGarnier ajoute (" L'Aluminium et le Nickel Conférence devant l'association française pour l'avancement des sciences. P. 15 & 16) : "…La couleur de ces roches vertes m'y fit soupçonner la présence du nickel d'autant plus que je m'étais assuré que cette coloration n'était pas due au cuivre. Je rapportai en France un certain nombre de spécimens de cette roche verte et les savants auxquels je les présentais : MM. Jannetaz qui m'aidait dans le classement de mes collections et Terreil, chimiste au Muséum, ne tardèrent pas à m'assurer que j'avais découvert un véritable minerai de nickel.

Alors que j'étais encore en Nouvelle Calédonie, j'avais fait parvenir au professeur Dana, minéralogiste célèbre, quelques échantillons de ce curieux minéral ; il voulut bien les étudier de très près. Ces études l'amenèrent à constater que c'étaient là des hydrosilicates de nickel et de magnésie à composition définie, mais plus ou moins mélangés d'une gangue ferrugineuse et siliceuse. [ (Ni, Mg)3 Si 2 O5 (OH)4] Le minerai était nouveau, Dana en publia la description dans sa cinquième édition de minéralogie en 1874 et voulut bien donner mon nom à ce minerai…". *

Ceci n'empêche pas de pseudo-historiens ou des journalistes pressés et approximatifs de présenter un certain Coste, mineur aventurier, comme l'inventeur du nickel pour avoir déclenché une demande de concessions dans ces sites préalablement bien répertoriés comme on vient de le voir au pied du Mont d'Or et d'en faire "le roi du nickel". D'autres royautés ont été distribuées comme celle de John Higginson, affairiste de génie dont sa biographe considère que son action n'est motivée que par la recherche de profits rapides et qu'au total, elle a été négative pour la colonie. Le minerai une fois inventé et clairement identifié, il convient : 1° d'en définir l'utilité dans la métallurgie de façon convaincante pour tous et 2° de mettre au point les procédés industriels de fusion et d'affinage. C'est à quoi s'est employé aussitôt JJGarnier.

* S'il fallait créer là un thème de controverse, il suffirait, pour y voir clair, de consulter à la Bibliothèque de L'École des Mines de Paris le " Bulletin de la Société des Industries Minérales " et l'article de 1892 de Félix Benoît, Ingénieur, Contrôleur des Mines, ancien chef du Service des Mines de Nouvelle Calédonie, article intitulé : "Étude sur les Mines de Nickel de la Nouvelle Calédonie " de la page 714 à 812.

 Page précédente (1)      Page suivante (3) 
créé par LusoDev                   Copyright ® 2007 - Dr. Jacques Le Sire - Tél. : +33 (0)6 89 30 06 07                     Infos légales | Liens