Version Française English version
 His origins  |  Travel to go  |  Diary  |  Volunteers 1870  |  Prospection  |  Factories & Industry  |  Travel to Canada  
Prospection (page 3)


At the time of its return trip in France JJ Garnier makes a stay prolonged enough in Tahiti and this enables him to study the geological composition of it. With this end he walks around the island, goes up the main valleys and collects on its road samples and notes. In France, its collection is deposited in the permanent exhibition of the marine and the colonies. Moreover he establishes a map and sections of the geology of Tahiti and its dependences The geological investigation of these territories had been neglected apart from the outline that the American scientist Dana had written following a great expedition undertaken in the Pacific Ocean under the auspices of the government of the United States.

We will give only some samples of the remarks that he made during his perilous experience : "The island of Tahiti as a whole is due to a series of volcanic eruptions which took place at different times and sometimes very distant from each other which one easily notes either by various natures of the eruptive rocks or by denudations that had time to undergo old layers before being covered by news or finally by the superposition of younger flows on oldest common basalt seems more abundant on this peninsula of Ririi than on the others and its remains often strew the shores there; in these areas, sands are also extremely rich in oxydulé iron and titanic iron; the first, out of octahedral crystals, sparkles the ground under the sunlight.

One meets same sand in other districts of the island... It is Vancouver who discovered the Rapa island in 1791 but, no more than the visitors who succeeded to him he does give information about the geological constitution of this island and one would probably have remained a long time without being informed of anything if one of the natives who live they're coming to Tahiti in 1867, had let the representative of the French government in this island known that there were layers of coal in Rapa...

One made divert the brook and clear the layer on all his thickness and on a width of 5 to 6 m: the layer is two meters to two meters fifty thick, its direction is N 40 degrees E, it is tilted 15 degrees south-east or North-West; it lies directly on a basalt seam; it is in mixed irregular beds of veins and with blocks of clay, it is covered by a talus of landslide entirely formed with variously colored clays... The lignite extracted from this layer came out in compact masses, with laminated texture, without traces of plants; its break was esquilleuse, dull, of color black grayish. The compactness of this fuel was variable; with the forging mill it burned like the charcoal and could give enough heat for the welding of iron although it was necessary a rather long time so that iron has the heat which is necessary for him for the welding…"

In another work entitled ": Excursion around the island of Tahiti ", JJ Garnier tells the exploration of a curious underground gallery in the district of Haapape. It is about a cave opening at the day in a vertical wall of lava, slags and ashes superimposed. It arrived there while rising to the force of the arms along a strong liana that one of its guides had gone to attach to the trunk of a small tree which pushes above the entry: it is about the mouth with fire of an extinct volcano. Its gallery, deep of more than 200 meters were of a maximum width of 1 m 20. The account ends in the visit with the queen Pomarée IV and on the regret that ethnographic, linguistic studies of these areas did not hold the attention of the European nations yet. At the Company of the Civil engineers, he presents successively in 1891,1896 and 1900 three reports taking again its observations of prospect on minerals dedicated respectively to Gold and Diamond in Transvaal and the Cape, the Mines of Nickel, Cuivre and Platinum District of Sudbury (Canada) and in Australia Occidental, this last with the collaboration of his loved son, Pascal, Civil engineer, Explorateur, deceased in Coolgardie (Australia) of the typhoid fever in 1898 at the of 26.

However we will start chronologically with the " Excursion with the country of the Cossacks of the Gift " in an account going back to 1882 and consigned to Volume III of the Bulletin of the Company of Geography and of which I raised the extracts which appear interesting to me: " … the part of the territory of the Cossacks of the DON whom I particularly visited at the end of the year 1881 is the known part under the name of Donetz which has contained layers of coal exploited for a few years with an increasingly large activity.

This rich coal field , forms part of the immense plain which extends since the Ural river to the mouth from Danube and which, to the south, the mountains of the Caucasus and Crimée mark the boundary.. It is under the reign of 'Pierre le Grand' that the coal was discovered and the tradition reports that the prince attached much importance to these mines of which he envisaged the future… The basin includes crystalline grounds, carboniferous, Permian, Jurassic, cretaceous, tertiary and alluvial. Several metals such as iron, copper, lead argentifère… are met in these various grounds. In spite of the abundance and the good quality of the coal which yields it of nothing to best as I could note it by the experiment and the analysis, the resources hardly start to be put in thorough exploitation… while the railways are established with speed, the coalmines go get every day to a good industrial level as I could note it everywhere and mainly in the mines of Makeeva, those of Mining and Industrial Company of Parès whose director, Mr Baer, French engineer, reserved to me an excellent reception"

He is concerned with the way how to transport ore, how to evacuate it by sea, which could be lower cost solution, volume extracted, exported, competing with the English and how, as well as possible, solve the problems of the work force, its food, taking into account the agricultural production thwarted by the climate, the harmfull effects, the damage caused by cockroaches in particular, etc. "The heavy work to which they are subdued, the bad weather of this hard climate, the long fasts in the event of food shortage made of the Russian a powerful being to the physic but resigned to moral and that more especially as it is of major ignorance: but, that must not bee mistaken : there is an enormous spring in this people unsullied of any civilization; under the influence of an idea, its fanaticism would make it frightening even to the powers which are more appreciated about method, science and all the progress of the day… thus, would I advise my young compatriots not to be let rejected by the climate or the language of this vast region where there is so much to make; our only quality of Frenchmen holds a good reception for us and we can bring our help without making up any susceptibility among Russian patriots !"

Here is a remark which, if one traveled several times to Russia(as I did), appears quite perspective and confirmed but sounds also like a kind of warning : one remembers at which point the two last Romanof ignored their subjects, especially the Tsar reigning on this date 1882, Alexander III, who instituted 'chefs ruraux' and accelerated the 'contre réformes'. I still think about the sentence of book IV of the Odes of Horace chosen at the beginning of this book : " Est animus tibi rerumque prudens and secundis dubiisque temporibus rectus." "You have a soul knowing things, going right in favorable times and the difficult ones."

 Previous page (2)      Next page (4) 
created by LusoDev                   Copyright ® 2007 - Dr. Jacques Le Sire - Tél. : +33 (0)6 89 30 06 07                     Links

Version Française English version
 Ses origines  |  Voyage aller  |  Journal de marche  |  Volontaires 1870  |  Prospection  |  Usines & industrie  |  Voyage au Canada  
Prospection (page 3)


Lors de son voyage de retour en France JJ Garnier fait un séjour assez prolongé à Tahiti et ceci lui permet d'en étudier la constitution géologique. Dans ce but il fait le tour de l'île, remonte les principales vallées et recueille sur sa route des échantillons et des notes. En France, sa collection est déposée à l'exposition permanente de la marine et des colonies. De plus il établit une carte et des coupes de la géologie de Tahiti et de ses dépendances. L'étude géologique de ces territoires avait été négligée mis à part l'aperçu qu'avait rédigé le savant américain Dana à la suite d'une grande expédition entreprise dans l'océan Pacifique sous les auspices du gouvernement des États-Unis.

Nous ne donnerons que quelques échantillons des remarques qu'il fit au cours de ses périlleuses expéditions : " L'île de Tahiti entière est due à une série d'éruptions volcaniques qui ont eu lieu à des époques différentes et parfois très éloignées les unes des autres ce que l'on constate facilement soit par les natures diverses des roches éruptives soit par les dénudations qu'ont eu le temps de subir d'anciennes couches avant d'être couvertes par de nouvelles soit enfin par la superposition des coulées plus jeunes sur les plus anciennes... le basalte commun semble plus abondant sur cette presqu'île de Ririi que sur les autres et ses débris y jonchent souvent les rivages ; dans ces parages, les sables sont aussi fort riches en fer oxydulé et en fer titané ; le premier, en cristaux octaédriques, fait étinceler le sol sous la lumière du soleil.

On rencontre le même sable dans d'autres districts de l'île... C'est Vancouver qui découvrit l'île Rapa en 1791 mais, pas plus que les visiteurs qui lui succédèrent il ne donne de renseignements sur la constitution géologique de cette île et l'on serait probablement demeuré longtemps sans en rien avoir si un des indigènes qui l'habitent arrivant à Tahiti en 1867, n'eût informé le représentant du gouvernement français dans cette île qu'il existait des gisements de houille à Rapa...

On fit détourner le ruisseau et dégager la couche sur toute son épaisseur et sur une largeur de 5 à 6 m : la couche à une épaisseur de deux mètres à deux mètres cinquante, sa direction est N, 40 degrés E, elle est inclinée de 15 degrés du sud-est ou nord-ouest ; elle repose directement sur un filon de basalte ; elle est en lits irréguliers mélangés de veines et de blocs d'argile, elle est recouverte par un talus d'éboulement entièrement formé d'argiles diversement colorées... Le lignite extrait de cette couche se présentait en masses compactes, à texture feuilletée, sans traces de végétaux ; sa cassure était esquilleuse, terne, de couleur noir grisâtre. La compacité de ce combustible était variable ; à la forge il brûlait comme le charbon de bois et pouvait donner assez de chaleur pour le soudage du fer bien qu'il fallut un temps assez long pour que le fer ait la chaude qui lui est nécessaire pour le soudage… "

Dans un autre ouvrage intitulé :" Excursion autour de l'île de Tahiti", JJ Garnier raconte l'exploration d'une curieuse galerie souterraine dans le district de Haapape. Il s'agit d'une grotte s'ouvrant au jour dans un mur vertical de laves, scories et cendres superposées. Il y parvint en se hissant à la force des bras le long d'une forte liane qu'un de ses guides était allé attacher au tronc d'un petit arbre qui poussait au-dessus de l'entrée : c'était la bouche à feu d'un volcan éteint. Sa galerie, profonde de plus de 200 mètres étaient d'une largeur maximale de 1 m 20. Le récit se termine par la visite à la reine Pomarée IV et sur le regret que des études ethnographiques, linguistiques de ces régions n'aient pas encore retenu l'attention des nations européennes. À la Société des Ingénieurs Civils, il présente successivement en 1891,1896 et 1900 trois mémoires reprenant ses observations de prospection minière dédiées respectivement aux Mines de Nickel Cuivre et Platine du District de Sudbury (Canada), à l'Or et au Diamant au Transvaal et au Cap, et à L'Australie Occidentale, ce dernier avec la collaboration de son fils aîné, Pascal, Ingénieur civil, Explorateur, décédé à Coolgardie (Australie) de la fièvre typhoïde en 1898 à l'âge de 26 ans.
 

Cependant nous commencerons chronologiquement par : " Excursion au pays des Cosaques du Don " Le récit date de 1882. Il est consigné au Tome III du Bulletin de la Société de Géographie. Voici quelques extraits significatifs: " … La partie du territoire des Cosaques du Don que j'ai particulièrement visitée à la fin de l'année 1881 est la partie connue sous le nom de Donetz qui renferme des couches de houille exploitées depuis quelques années avec une activité de plus en plus grande. Ce riche bassin houiller fait partie de l'immense plaine qui s'étend depuis le fleuve Oural jusqu'à l'embouchure du Danube et que bornent au sud les montagnes du Caucase et de la Crimée….

C'est sous le règne de Pierre le Grand que la houille fut découverte et la tradition rapporte que ce prince attacha beaucoup d'importance à ces mines dont il prévoyait l'avenir…le bassin comporte des terrains cristallins, carbonifères, permiens, jurassiques, crétacés, tertiaires et alluvionnaires. Plusieurs métaux tels que le fer, le cuivre, le plomb argentifère…se rencontrent dans ces divers terrains. Malgré l'abondance et la bonne qualité des houilles qui ne le cèdent en rien aux meilleures comme j'ai pu le constater par l'expérience et l'analyse, les richesses commencent à peine à être mises en exploitation sérieuse… pendant que les voies ferrées s'établissent avec rapidité, les houillères se mettent chaque jour à un bon niveau industriel ainsi que j'ai pu le constater partout et principalement aux mines de Makeeva, à celles de la Société Minière et Industrielle de Pares dont le directeur, M. Baer, ingénieur français, m'a réservé un excellent accueil. "

Il se préoccupe de savoir comment transporter le minerai, comment l'évacuer par mer, quel peut être le moindre coût, le volume extrait, exporté, la concurrence anglaise et comment résoudre au mieux les problèmes de la main d'œuvre, de son alimentation compte tenu de la production agricole contrariée par le climat, les nuisances, les dégâts causés par les hannetons en particulier, etc. " … les travaux pénibles auxquels ils se livrent, les intempéries de ce rude climat, les longs jeûnes en cas de disette ont fait du Russe un être puissant au physique mais résigné au moral et cela d'autant plus qu'il est d'une ignorance profonde ; mais qu'on ne s'y trompe pas, il y a un ressort énorme dans ce peuple vierge de toute civilisation ; sous l'influence d'une idée, son fanatisme le rendrait redoutable même aux puissances qui s'apprécient le plus sur la méthode, la science et tous les progrès du jour… ainsi, conseillerais-je à mes jeunes compatriotes de ne pas se laisser rebuter par le climat ou la langue de cette vaste contrée où il y a tant à faire ; notre seule qualité de Français nous réserve un bon accueil et nous pouvons apporter notre concours sans éveiller aucune susceptibilité chez les patriotes russes ! "

Voilà une remarque qui, pour peu que l'on ait voyagé plusieurs fois en Russie, paraît bien lucide et vérifiée mais sonne aussi comme une sorte de prémonition: On se souvient à quel point les deux derniers Romanoff se désintéressaient de leurs sujets, surtout le Tsar régnant à cette date de 1882, Alexandre III, qui instituait des postes de 'chefs ruraux' et accélérait les contre-réformes. Je pense encore à la phrase du Livre IV des Odes d'Horace choisie au début de ce livre : "Est animus tibi rerumque prudens et secundis temporibus dubiisque rectus " : Tu possèdes une âme connaissant les choses, allant droit, dans les temps favorables et dans les difficiles."

 Page précédente (2)      Page suivante (4) 
créé par LusoDev                   Copyright ® 2007 - Dr. Jacques Le Sire - Tél. : +33 (0)6 89 30 06 07                     Infos légales | Liens