Version Française English version
 His origins  |  Travel to go  |  Diary  |  Volunteers 1870  |  Prospection  |  Factories & Industry  |  Travel to Canada  
Factories and Industry (page 4)

2° nickel and iron alloys, has various titres, hammered with the pounder, after refining of the aforesaid cast iron of ferronickel in the Comtois firebox, under my care and my direction in the factories of MM Reverchon and Saglio, Audincourt (Doubs) in May 1878 3° a block of 500 kilos approximately of nickel and iron, obtained on the plate of the Siemens furnace which I had mounted in Septèmes for the refining of the ferronickel iron and cast iron; the block had loosed a part of its carbon, silicon and of part of its iron.

Although these products had been noticed enough by the jury to be worth us a gold medal in the exhibition; although our ferronickel and steel nickel were already related to our commercial leaflets; although we had made various attempts towards the metallurgists, the applications had come only slowly. Moreover, despite all my assertions the doubt existed and, at the time when I claimed the advantages of nickel in the steel, a man whose opinion made rightly a great authority, the famous chemist Boussingault wrote that there would be no interest to link nickel with the steel… My personal tests showed me however the error of Boussingault and when, discouraged, extremely tired, in 1881, I left the Company Le Nickel, leaving with the registered office a series of ferronickel moldings, rolled and stamped bars, as well as the indicative notes of the followed processes, the question of iron with nickel was elucidated for me and undoubtedly for those of my associates who had seen certain objects I had molded and hammered.

As from that moment, my patents no more belonging to me, I could' not obviously use them for my own account while, on the other hand, the Company Le Nickel, which was owner, let them sleep. As for the metallurgists whom I advised from then to manufacture nickel steels, according to my old processes, I did not hide them that it was initially necessary to reach an agreement with the Company Le Nickel, owner of this patent; it was thus a vicious circle. At last, in these last years, certain steel-works took again the question for their own account and made triumph my old statements. One can add, however, that if the industry of iron had seized earlier nickel as alloy, the mines of New Caledonia, whatever rich they be, had not been enough to supply the market; it was necessary to leave to them time to develop their tools, to organize themselves; but, on the other hand, it is necessary to be pleased that the discovery and the development of Sudbury's deposits line up with the practical application on a large scale of nickel steels.

In the United States, I had the honor to expose, last September, my 1876 processes to the Carnegie firm, Phepps and Co of Pittsburgh; these MM. whose factories are colossal since only one of them, Bessemer station, annually produce 400 000 tons of rails, made, little time after, in their steel-works of Homestead at Pittsburg a test of nickel steel, on which Mr. W L Abbott addressed a report to the Minister for the Navy. It was the first test of manufacture of steel nickel made in the United States and it was a perfect success. They carried it out in a Bessemer converter on five tons of steel; part of the ingots was rolled out in sheets 0,022 m thickness, and they cut up various bars as a test... The proportion of nickel in steel was 3,16 %. These tests were carried on since and the Carnegie firm has just obtained the order of 6000 tons armour-plates or nickel of which they intend to begin the delivery before next June 1. They will use a special rolling mill of an enormous weight and they do not wait any more, to go, until the delivery of powerful cranes to handle the plates and of a hydraulic press to give to the plates their final form. The company of Bethlehem that also is preparing to make the plates with nickel will be ready only later needing times to finish their 125 tons drop-hammer.

 Previous page (3)      Next page (5) 
created by LusoDev                   Copyright ® 2007 - Dr. Jacques Le Sire - Tél. : +33 (0)6 89 30 06 07                     Links

Version Française English version
 Ses origines  |  Voyage aller  |  Journal de marche  |  Volontaires 1870  |  Prospection  |  Usines & industrie  |  Voyage au Canada  
Usines et industrie (page 4)


2° des alliages de fer et de nickel, à divers titres, martelés au pilon, après affinage de la fonte susdite de ferronickel au foyer Comtois, sous mes soins et ma direction dans les usines de MM. Reverchon et Saglio, Audincourt (Doubs) en mai 1878 3° un bloc de 500 kilos environ de nickel et de fer, obtenu sur la sole du four Siemens que j'avais monté à Septèmes pour l'affinage des fontes de ferronickel ; ce bloc était privé d'une partie de son carbone, du silicium et d'une partie de son fer.

Bien que ces produits eussent été assez remarqués du jury pour nous valoir une médaille d'or à l'exposition ; bien que nos ferronickel et acier nickel fussent déjà portés sur nos prospectus commerciaux ; bien que nous fîmes diverses tentatives auprès des métallurgistes, les applications n'étaient venues que lentement. D'ailleurs, malgré toutes mes affirmations le doute existait et, au moment où je proclamais les avantages du nickel dans l'acier, un homme dont l'opinion faisait à juste titre une grande autorité, l'illustre chimiste Boussingault écrivait qu'il n'y aurait aucun intérêt à unir le nickel à l'acier… Mes essais personnels me montraient toutefois l'erreur de Boussingault et lorsque, découragé, extrêmement las, en 1881, je quittai la Société Le Nickel, laissant au siège social une série de moulages de ferronickel, de barres laminées et estampées, ainsi que les notes indicatives des procédés suivis, la question du fer au nickel était élucidée pour moi et sans doute pour ceux de mes associés qui avaient vu certains objets que j'avais moulés et martelés.

À partir de ce moment-là, mes brevets ne m'appartenant plus, je ne pus naturellement les utiliser pour mon propre compte pendant que d'autre part, la Société Le Nickel, qui en était propriétaire, les laissait dormir. Quant aux métallurgistes que j'ai engagés depuis à fabriquer des aciers au nickel, suivant mes anciens procédés, je ne leur cachai pas qu'il fallait d'abord s'entendre avec la Société Le Nickel, propriétaire de ce brevet ; c'était donc un cercle vicieux. Enfin, dans ces dernières années, certaines aciéries reprirent la question pour leur propre compte et firent triompher mes anciens dires. On peut ajouter, toutefois, que si l'industrie du fer s'était emparée plus tôt du nickel comme alliage, les mines de la Nouvelle Calédonie, toute riches qu'elles sont, n'eussent pas suffi à alimenter le marché ; il fallait leur laisser le temps de développer leur outillage, de s'organiser ; mais, par contre, il faut se féliciter que la découverte et la mise en valeur des gîtes de Sudbury coïncident avec la mise en pratique sur un grand pied des aciers au nickel.

Aux États-Unis, j'eus honneur d'exposer, en septembre dernier, mes procédés de 1876 à la maison Carnegie, Phepps et Cie de Pittsburgh ; ces messieurs dont les usines sont colossales puisque l'une seule d'entre elles, Bessemer station, produit annuellement 400 000 tonnes de rails firent, peu de temps après, dans leurs aciéries de Homestead à Pittsburg un essai d'acier au nickel, sur lequel M. W. L. Abbott adressa un rapport au ministre de la marine. C'était le premier essai de fabrication d'acier au nickel fait aux États-Unis et il réussit très bien. On opéra dans un convertisseur Bessemer sur cinq tonnes d'acier ; une partie des lingots fut laminée en tôles de 0,022 m d'épaisseur, ou l'on découpa diverses barrettes d'essai... La proportion de nickel dans l'acier était de 3,16 %. Ces essais furent continués depuis et la maison Carnegie vient d'obtenir la commande de 6000 tonnes de plaques de blindage ou nickel dont ils comptent commencer la livraison avant le 1er juin prochain. Ils utiliseront un laminoir spécial d'un poids énorme et ils n'attendent plus, pour marcher, que la livraison de grues puissantes pour manier les plaques et d'une presse hydraulique pour donner aux plaques leur forme définitive. La compagnie de Bethléem qui se prépare aussi à faire les plaques au nickel ne sera prête que plus tard ayant besoin de délais pour finir leur marteau pilon de 125 tonnes.

 Page précédente (3)      Page suivante (5) 
créé par LusoDev                   Copyright ® 2007 - Dr. Jacques Le Sire - Tél. : +33 (0)6 89 30 06 07                     Infos légales | Liens