Version Française English version
 His origins  |  Travel to go  |  Diary  |  Volunteers 1870  |  Prospection  |  Factories & Industry  |  Travel to Canada  
Factories and Industry (page 7)


the Lithology of the sea-bottom layers keeps him on in a report and extracts of a 600 pages work by Mr. Delesse including maps of the ground surfaces immersed using of various hues of color according to the mineralogical character of the rocks which compose them. The article extends largely up on " France at the various geological times". Nothing yet about nodules.

We will see finally why and how Jules Garnier is interested in the "Human Migrations in Oceania according to the natural facts".


It is a report which joins together a beam of arguments in order to put forward the assumption that one could express as follows: if one takes account of the high antiquity of the man on the earth, of the influence of the winds on his migrations and the general streams, there must have been constant exchanges around the sphere between the grounds one can see from one tropic to another; there was thus from east to west not only a circular stream of the atmosphere, a current of the sea, but still a human current also, says he; our current knowledge on the intertropical people, in spite of their insufficiency, show us between them all obvious relations of practice, of language and it could not be any differently.

These arguments are based for example on a table of 149 observations of the winds, made on the shore, with about equal intervals, in 1866 at the observatory of Nouméa. It appears there that the winds from west never blew without interruption more than one day in continuation, the winds of the North-West more than four days and only once; as for the winds of south-east, they blow about the remainder of time and per periods which reach 20 days. If the Polynesians came from America, it is possible to find arguments in the analogies of language, in the similarity of the habits and the general style of life. There, he says: "I will add in this respect I have bamboos on which were engraved with the teeth of a shell and by the natives the principal details of one of our forwardings in New Caledonia. This speaking writing is used by American and the Polynesians."

Of this are brought closer twelve other similarities. All the second part of the work seeks and finds its evidence in the study of the language calédonien despairing by the number of dialects. He puts apart three principal, analyzes the terms, the rules of syntax in about fifteen tables and concludes with Mr. Gaussin that: "the polynesianis the meeting of the two languages: this author thinks that this mixture had to be done only in small proportions in what looks at the invading language for the polynesian has, in spite of this intrusion, preserved as a whole all the characters of a mother language and homogeneous. Although these unspecified problems are hardly comparable with those of which mathematics is occupied, one can, nevertheless, see here a kind of proof rather similar to those which confirm the accuracy of certain operations of arithmetic calculation."

*
  You said structuralism? (Structuralism: current of thought resulting from the linguistics and which treats human facts as symbolic elements of a unit that can be deciphered)

Previous page (6) 
created by LusoDev                   Copyright ® 2007 - Dr. Jacques Le Sire - Tél. : +33 (0)6 89 30 06 07                     Links

Version Française English version
 Ses origines  |  Voyage aller  |  Journal de marche  |  Volontaires 1870  |  Prospection  |  Usines & industrie  |  Voyage au Canada  
Usines et industrie (page 7)


4° La Lithologie du fond des mers le retient dans un compte rendu et des extraits d'un ouvrage de 600 pages de M. Delesse comportant des cartes des surfaces de terre immergées au moyen de teintes de couleur diverses suivant le caractère minéralogique des roches qui les composent. L'article s'étend largement sur "la France aux différentes époques géologiques. Il n'était pas encore question des nodules.

Nous allons voir enfin pourquoi et comment Jules Garnier s'intéresse aux 5° "Migrations humaines en Océanie d'après les faits naturels".


C'est un mémoire qui réunit un faisceau d'arguments en vue de faire valoir l'hypothèse que l'on pourrait exprimer ainsi : si l'on tient compte de la haute antiquité de l'homme sur la terre, de l'influence sur ses migrations des vents et des courants généraux, il a dû y avoir des échanges constants autour du globe entre les terres qui s'y rencontrent, d'un tropique à l'autre; il y avait donc de l'est à l'ouest non seulement un courant circulaire de l'atmosphère, un courant de la mer, mais encore un courant humain aussi, dit-il, nos connaissances actuelles sur les peuples intertropicaux, malgré leur insuffisance, nous montrent entre eux tous des relations évidentes de mœurs, de langage et il n'en saurait être autrement.


Ces arguments se fondent par exemple sur un tableau de 149 observations des vents, faites sur le rivage, à intervalles à peu près égaux, en 1866 à l'observatoire de Nouméa. Il y apparaît que les vents d'ouest n'ont jamais soufflé sans interruption plus d'un jour de suite, les vents de nord-ouest plus de quatre jours et en une seule fois; quant aux vents de sud-est, ils soufflent à peu près le reste du temps et par périodes qui atteignent 20 jours. Si les polynésiens sont venus de l'Amérique, il est possible d'en trouver des arguments dans les analogies de langage, dans la ressemblance des mœurs et des coutumes générales. Là, il dit : "j'ajouterai à cet égard que je possède des bambous sur lesquels ont été gravés avec les dents d'un coquillage et par les indigènes les principaux détails d'une de nos expéditions à la Nouvelle Calédonie. Cette écriture parlante est usitée par les américains et les polynésiens."

De ceci sont rapprochées douze autres similitudes. Toute la deuxième partie de l'ouvrage recherche et trouve ses preuves dans l'étude du langage calédonien* désespérant par le nombre de dialectes. Il en isole trois principaux, analyse les termes, les règles de syntaxe dans une quinzaine de tableaux et conclut avec M. Gaussin que : "Le polynésien est la réunion des deux langues : cet auteur pense que ce mélange ne dut se faire que dans de faibles proportions (en ce qui regarde la langue envahissante) car le polynésien a, malgré cette intrusion, conservé dans son ensemble tous les caractères d'une langue mère et homogène. Bien que ces problèmes indéterminés ne soient guère comparables à ceux dont les mathématiques s'occupent, on peut, néanmoins, voir ici une sorte de preuve assez semblable à celles qui confirment la justesse de certaines opérations du calcul arithmétique."

*
  Vous avez dit structuralisme ? (Structuralisme : courant de pensée issu de la linguistique et qui traite des faits humains comme éléments symboliques d'un ensemble qui peut être déchiffré)

Page précédente (6) 
créé par LusoDev                   Copyright ® 2007 - Dr. Jacques Le Sire - Tél. : +33 (0)6 89 30 06 07                     Infos légales | Liens