Version Française English version
 His origins  |  Travel to go  |  Diary  |  Volunteers 1870  |  Prospection  |  Factories & Industry  |  Travel to Canada  
Volunteers 1870 (page 3)


The organization had worked quickly. We took only sturdy young workers, looking resolute and having good certificates; they were mainly mineworkers or mine carpenters, all of them alert people, strong, decided, accustomed to often face up death and to fight with it. In the course of my life, I saw many of these classes of people which one calls mine workers and seamen and one can say they are connected by numerous features of likeness: the same bravery, the same ingenuity, dedication; as for physical qualities the same sober temperament, knowing how to defy climate's fatigues and works.

I had at first to create four companies but as events rushed I decided that we would go on the war pass as soon as two companies only would be formed. Besides my second about whom I spoke, my other officers were also all engineers accustomed to lead the men from mines and factories. As for as my non commissioned officers they still were sub-engineers or supervisors of works. This is a class that one has not enough revealed and the most of during the war; these young people formed however officers' best frame that one could find then in the civil element, either for the special weapons, or to show to their colleagues how one speaks to the men to make them obey and obey cheerfully. Unfortunately, one too often preferred, on the contrary, to these already formed subjects, people of office, pen fellows or idle people who, chosen in the ranks of " classe bourgeoise," still had all the defects of the "bourgeois éducation": love and custom of physical prosperity, disdain of military honors and, what is still worse, indifference or skepticism for patriotic feelings..."

The stories of this campaign are scattered with critical notes concerning the incompetence of the generals, the lack of preparation, the opposition Paris - Province and the fatal political involvement of such or such dignitaries and especially the way that military and human disasters, which were to mourn for, could have been avoided. I am going to give punctual examples extracted from the work itself. One finds this type of comments in textbooks and current historic works. No sooner reorganized had Mac-Mahon tried to combine with the army of Metz; he took offensive with a discouraged troop of which defeat increased indiscipline; it is in these conditions that this general came to himself between the hammer and the anvil; every step which he made forward moved him closer to an evident disaster.

The Prussians, for their part, lost then an enormous advantage for, if they had taken the road of Paris following our fugitives, we should assume that, in the state of discouragement and disorganization where they would have found the capital, they would have entered it meeting no resistance. But this huge mistake of the Prussian generals was in a sense repaired by the plan, which adopted Mac-Mahon to operate his connection with Bazaine. The leader of the army of Chalons might know that the Crown prince walked to him with impressive arm forces, which, besides, was the huge vanguard of a series of columns which was spread up to the chains of Vosges, occupying the main roads. Could a general of the experience of Mac-Mahon suppose that an army improvised as was his army be ever able to execute the extraordinary march, which the necessity of the plan required absolutely?

This project seemed so insane on behalf of a renowned warrior that one supposed (with good reason maybe) it had been imposed by Napoleon III who, doubtless, preferred all the disasters rather than withdraw to Paris which he seemed to be afraid of, at that time, more than Crown prince's troops. If that's how it is, in which degree of lowness had fallen this sovereign… (the influence of politics on this march of general Mac-Mahon seems today demonstrated) Somewhere else: It is not for me to criticize a general who had shown proofs of capacity but it is allowed to say that, in these circumstances, (siege of Paris) general Trochu was not stimulated with this patriotic flame which devours all the obstacles and places spirit above all the difficulties: the slogan was not what it had to be: " to save the country or death " Oh, if he had had in the service of this noble cause the wild energy of particular leaders of the Commune!"

 Previous page (2)      Next page (4) 
created by LusoDev                   Copyright ® 2007 - Dr. Jacques Le Sire - Tél. : +33 (0)6 89 30 06 07                     Links

Version Française English version
 Ses origines  |  Voyage aller  |  Journal de marche  |  Volontaires 1870  |  Prospection  |  Usines & industrie  |  Voyage au Canada  
Volontaires 1870 (page 3)


L'organisation avait marché rapidement. Nous ne prenions d'ailleurs que des ouvriers jeunes robustes, d'aspect résolu et munis de bons certificats c'étaient principalement des mineurs ou charpentier de mines, tous gens alertes, le vigoureux, décidés, habitués à voir souvent la mort en face et à lutter avec elle. Dans le cours de ma vie, j'ai vu beaucoup de ces classes d'hommes qu'on appelle mineurs et marins et l'on peut dire quelles sont liées par de nombreux traits de ressemblance : même bravoure, même naïveté même dévouement ; quant aux qualités physiques même tempérament sobre, sachant braver les fatigues des climats et des travaux. Je devais d'abord créer quatre compagnies mais comme les événements se précipitaient je décidai que nous entrerions en campagne aussitôt que deux compagnies seulement seraient formées.. Outre mon second dont j'ai parlé, mes autres officiers étaient tous aussi des ingénieurs habitués à conduire les hommes des mines et des usines.

Quant à mes sous officiers c'étaient encore des sous-ingénieurs ou contremaîtres de travaux. C'est là une classe que l'on n'a pas assez mise en évidence et à profit pendant laquelle; ces jeunes gens formaient cependant le meilleur cadre d'officiers que l'on pût trouver alors dans l'élément civil, soit pour les armes spéciales, soit pour montrer à leurs collègues comment on parle aux hommes pour les faire obéir et obéir de bonne humeur. Malheureusement hélas, on a, au contraire, trop souvent préféré à ces sujets déjà formés, des gens de bureau, de plume ou des oisifs qui, choisis dans les rangs de la classe bourgeoise, avaient encore tous les défauts de l'éducation bourgeoise : amour et habitude du bien-être physique, dédain des honneurs militaires et, ce qui est pire encore, indifférence ou scepticisme pour les sentiments patriotiques...

Les récits de cette campagne sont semés de notes critiques concernant l'incompétence des généraux, l'impréparation, l'opposition Paris-Province et l'implication politique néfaste de tel ou tel personnage et surtout la façon dont on aurait pu éviter les désastres militaires et humains qui furent à déplorer. Je vais en donner des exemples ponctuels extraits de l'ouvrage. On retrouve ce type de commentaires dans les manuels et les ouvrages historiques actuels. Mac-Mahon, à peine réorganisé essaya d'opérer une jonction avec l'armée de Metz ; il prit l'offensive avec une troupe découragée dont la défaite augmentait l'indiscipline ; c'est dans ces conditions que ce général vint se placer entre le marteau et l'enclume ; chaque pas qu'il faisait en avant le rapprochait d'un désastre évident.

Les Prussiens, de leur coté, perdirent alors un avantage énorme car, s'ils eussent pris le chemin de Paris à la suite de nos fuyards, il est à présumer que, dans l'état de découragement et de désorganisation où ils auraient trouvé la capitale, ils y seraient entrés sans coup férir. Mais cette faute immense des généraux prussiens fût en quelque sorte réparée par le plan qu'adoptait Mac-Mahon d'opérer sa jonction avec Bazaine. Le chef de l'armée de Chalons devait savoir que le Prince Royal marchait sur lui avec des forces imposantes, qu'il n'était, en outre que l'immense avant garde d'une série de colonnes qui s'échelonnait jusqu'aux chaînes des Vosges, occupant les routes principales. Un général de l'expérience de Mac-Mahon pouvait-il supposer qu'une armée improvisée comme l'était la sienne fût jamais capable d'exécuter les marches extraordinaires que la nécessité de son plan exigeait impérieusement ?

Ce projet parut tellement insensé de la part d'un homme de guerre réputé qu'on a supposé, avec raison peut-être, qu'il avait été imposé par Napoléon III qui, sans doute, préférait tous les désastres à l'idée de se replier sur Paris ce qu'il paraissait craindre plus alors que les troupes du Prince Royal. "S'il en est ainsi, à quel degré de bassesse était tombé ce souverain… (l'influence de la politique sur cette marche du général Mac-Mahon semble aujourd'hui démontrée) Ailleurs : Il ne m'appartient pas sans doute de critiquer un général qui avait montré des preuves de capacité mais il est permis de dire que, dans ces circonstances, (siège de Paris) le général Trochu ne fût point animé de cette flamme patriotique qui dévore tous les obstacles et place l'esprit au dessus de toutes les difficultés : sa devise ne fût pas ce qu'elle devait être : "sauver le pays ou la mort" Ah, s'il avait eu au service de cette noble cause l'énergie sauvage de certains chefs de la Commune elle-même ! "

 Page précédente (2)      Page suivante (4) 
créé par LusoDev                   Copyright ® 2007 - Dr. Jacques Le Sire - Tél. : +33 (0)6 89 30 06 07                     Infos légales | Liens