Version Française English version
 His origins  |  Travel to go  |  Diary  |  Volunteers 1870  |  Prospection  |  Factories & Industry  |  Travel to Canada  
Volunteers 1870 (page 4)


One remembers that decisions taken by the committee of the armament in Tours, on October 22 had been realized very swiftly. It had been necessary to wait until November 17 to obtain orders and precise orders which showed themselves divergent and certain bailiffs or field officers act so as to delay or to oppose an urgent action -which one would call today of commando group- During this time, the recruited volunteers, divided into squads, exercised to rise along telegraph poles by several people and, within one minute to cut threads or special devices without one can see it at the foot of the pole. Others placed invisible torpedoes under rails or still to deprive any stability of railway tracks or to maneuver " our special electric machines "

From Tours, the telegrams of answer left to J. Garnier any initiative in the struggle opened between the army of the Loire and the invaders: " We judged that we could be useful in this supreme fight and we toke, on December 3, the direction of battlefields. The snow was running down, a breeze from the North which had made the thermometer go down lower several degrees below zero, were the preludes of the severe winter which we were going to face; however, my volunteers sang according to a custom, one would not remove in our country, while they followed the road which leads to Vierzon's station. " They arrived at Tours only in the night of December 5 so much ways were blocked to ear about the series of disasters undergone of which the evacuation of Orlêans and even the threat of encirclement of Tours where from left hurriedly the staff of ministries with their family and "canary filled cage, sic". Not having been able to find in the station powders and instruments, it was necessary to bring back others from Saint Étienne.

The first emotion produced by the unexpected disasters of the army of the Loire having a little calmed down, I received the confidential order to go and blow up Foug's tunnel, in the Meurthe, within about 30 km on the West of Nancy and at 8 km west of Toul. This underground passage is one of the keys of the line from Strasbourg to Paris; if one succeeded in damaging it enough to prevent the trains from circulating in it during a month, it was of a major importance because one held up or stopped the coming of the troops, materiel, supplying, etc. which passed there then constantly in the direction of Paris.

According to the information which were given to me this underground passage has 800 m of length; it is dug in marls and clayish banks of Oxford-clay; it is paved inside with a masonry and the wells of ventilation are spaced out of about 50 m My purpose was, with the powerful powder which I had - and which acts very well out in the open, that is when it is simply placed on the object to be broken - to drive down at least with a cable and along one of the wells of the tunnel 500 kg of this powder (equal to about 4000 kilograms of common powder). This enormous torpedo, immediately arrived near the connection of the bottom of the well and the intrados of the tunnel would be ignited electrically and would produce certainly an enormous damage shaking, once more masonries at a big distance what would require long repairs. To arrive at Foug, we had to go at first to Nevers by railway; from there, to reach the city of Langres by squeezing us between Châtillon on the Seine and Dijon through the enemy lines...

I have to say that I received for my volunteers on behalf of experts of numerous compliments. As we had been equipped by the war department, I had chosen the very convenient uniform in campaign of the infantry men on line; the kepi of the engineers and a double black strip on the red trousers distinguished them only of this last one. Besides, they carried, suspended around the neck by leather lace, a steel shovel a millimeter and a half thick that weighed about 1 pound and was in the test of the bullets. Handle of this shovel was fixed on the bag and was used as tent peg. They could in no time remove this shovel, fit into a handle and use it; I had trained them to as it was practiced successfully by American guerrilla warfares to be make a quick shelter from a hole in the ground; the earth which resulted from it being still placed towards the enemy so as to form a retaining wall on which leaned the rifle to fire. One will see that this operation was useful for us.

 Previous page (3)      Next page (5) 
created by LusoDev                   Copyright ® 2007 - Dr. Jacques Le Sire - Tél. : +33 (0)6 89 30 06 07                     Links

Version Française English version
 Ses origines  |  Voyage aller  |  Journal de marche  |  Volontaires 1870  |  Prospection  |  Usines & industrie  |  Voyage au Canada  
Volontaires 1870 (page 4)


On se souvient que les décisions prises par la commission de l'armement à Tours, le 22 octobre l'avaient été avec une grande célérité. Il a fallu attendre le 17 novembre pour obtenir des ordres et des instructions précises qui se sont révélés divergents et certains intendants ou officier supérieur ont fait en sorte de retarder ou contrarier une action urgente-qu'on appellerait aujourd'hui de commando-. Pendant ce temps, les volontaires recrutés, divisés en escouade, s'exerçaient à monter le long des poteaux télégraphiques à plusieurs et, en moins d'une minute à couper fils ou appareils spéciaux sans qu'on puisse le voir au pied du poteau. D'autres plaçaient des torpilles invisibles sous les rails ou encore à enlever toute stabilité aux voies ou à manœuvrer "nos machines électriques spéciales."

Depuis Tours, les télégrammes de réponse laissaient à J. Garnier toute initiative dans la partie engagée entre l'armée de la Loire et les envahisseurs : "Nous jugeâmes que nous pouvions être utiles dans cette lutte suprême et nous primes, le 3 décembre, la direction des champs de bataille. La neige tombait à flots, une brise du nord qui avait fait descendre le thermomètre à plusieurs degrés au-dessous de zéro, étaient les préludes du rigoureux hiver que nous allions affronter ; cependant, mes volontaires chantaient suivant une coutume qu'on ne saurait faire disparaître chez nous, pendant qu'ils suivaient le chemin qui mène à la gare de Vierzon." Ils n'arrivèrent à Tours que dans la nuit du5 décembre tant les voies étaient encombrées pour y apprendre la série de désastres subis dont l'évacuation d'Orléans et même la menace d'encerclement de Tours d'où partait en hâte le personnel des ministères avec leur famille et "les cages à serein garnies" (sic). N'ayant pu retrouver à la gare poudres et instruments, il fallut en faire venir d'autres de Saint Étienne.

La première émotion produite par les désastres inattendus de l'armée de la Loire s'étant un peu calmée, je reçus l'ordre confidentiel d'aller faire sauter le tunnel de Foug, dans la Meurthe, à 30 km environ à l'ouest de Nancy et à 8 km à l'ouest de Toul. Ce souterrain est une des clés de la ligne de Strasbourg à Paris ; si l'on parvenait le dégrader suffisamment pour empêcher les trains d'y circuler pendant un mois, c'était d'une importance capitale puisque l'on gênait ou arrêtait l'arrivée des troupes, matériel, ravitaillement etc. qui y passaient alors constamment dans la direction de Paris.

D'après les renseignements qui me furent donnés ce souterrain a 800 m de longueur ; il est creusé dans les marnes et bancs en argileux de l'Oxford-clay; il est revêtu intérieurement d'une maçonnerie et les puits d'aérage sont espacés de 50 m environ. Mon but était, avec la poudre puissante dont je disposais - et qui agit très bien à l'air libre libre, c'est-à-dire lorsqu'elle est simplement placée sur l'objet à briser - de faire descendre au moyen d'un câble et le long d'un des puits du tunnel 500 kg de cette poudre (équivalant à peu près à 4000 kilogrammes de poudre ordinaire. Cette énorme torpille, aussitôt arrivée près de la jonction de la partie inférieure du puits et de l'intrados du tunnel serait enflammé électriquement et produirait à coup sûr un dégât énorme ébranlant d'ailleurs les maçonneries à une grande distance ce qui exigerait de longues réparations. Pour arriver à Foug, nous devions nous rendre d'abord à Nevers par voie ferrée; de là, gagner la ville de Langres en nous glissant entre Châtillon sur Seine et Dijon à travers les lignes ennemies...

Je dois dire que je reçus pour mes volontaires de la part d'hommes de métier de nombreux compliments. Comme nous avions été équipés par le département de la guerre, j'avais choisi l'uniforme très commode en campagne du fantassin de ligne ; le képi du génie et une double bande noire sur le pantalon rouge les différenciaient seuls de ce dernier. Ils portaient en outre, suspendue autour du cou par lacet de cuir, une pelle d'acier d'un millimètre et demi d'épaisseur qui pesait environ 1 livre et se trouvait à l'épreuve de la balle. Le manche de cette pelle était fixé sur le sac et servait de piquet de tente. Ils pouvaient en un instant enlever cette pelle l'emmancher et s'en servit ; je les avais exercés ainsi que cela fut pratiqué avec succès par les guérillas américaines à faire rapidement pour s'abriter un trou dans le sol; la terre qui en provenait étant encore placée du côté de l'ennemi de manière à former un épaulement sur lequel s'appuyait le fusil pour tirer. On verra que cette manœuvre nous fût utile.

 Page précédente (3)      Page suivante (5) 
créé par LusoDev                   Copyright ® 2007 - Dr. Jacques Le Sire - Tél. : +33 (0)6 89 30 06 07                     Infos légales | Liens