Version Française English version
 His origins  |  Travel to go  |  Diary  |  Volunteers 1870  |  Prospection  |  Factories & Industry  |  Travel to Canada  
Volunteers 1870 (page 5)


We saw that in the station of Tours it had been impossible to find gun powders and explosives which should have accompanied the train. By telegram a young engineer of St Étienne was kind enough to take care of making these torpedoes and detonator. He was waited in station of Nevers; unfortunately ! the same misfortune happened to him and he was able to find in his train only one precious but sufficient box presently. It is necessary to know that, Garibaldi, arrived at Tours on October 8 to lend his support to France had been appointed general-in chief, commanding the zone of Vosges in which then were some volunteers' units and mobilized. Since, he had especially taken charge to organize his army. We are going to summarize the actions of this army from the beginning of November to the beginning of December and we shall find at that time our narrator and his mine workers whom we left on December 5 in station of Tours.

During the night of the 9 and 10 of November 18 railway trains brought from Dôle the army of Garibaldi to Autun of which he made an excellent operation's base. As soon as november 25, he launched the army in an offensive which brought him to several successes within 50 km northward under the walls of Dijon outposts which were pulled out by bayonets but, the shooting of the Prussian 's artillery batteries suddenly threw into panic these little-toughened-up troops and this audacious smash-and-grab attack changed into rout and hasty retreat to Autun against which the cannon began thundering on December 1° afternoon. Then took place a scene of indescribable disorder where the soldiers looked for their weapons and the officers surprised-inside the "cafés" for most part of them did not know where to go : " … So everything seemed lost when the mobile artillerymen of the Charente to whom belonged two of the batteries spontaneously run in their artillery cannons, bring them in front of the enemy, aim them and counter attack. Most of these fellows had yet never attended even an exercise with fire and they were obliged, to have ammunitions, to kick down by axes strikes boxes locked or screwed. This swift reply of our artillery brought back courage, cold blood to most people. As for our three batteries, they were settled on an esplanade which extends at feet of the minor seminar; from there it controlled wonderfully all the assaulting army but their field of operation was too much restricted; furthermore, they were completely exposed, also they lost there 1/ 5-th of the strengths: eighteen deaths and 40 wounded persons. These three batteries sent 1360 missiles answering german in quick succession.

When one knows position in amphitheatre of the city of Autun where it is so easy to find out numerous points from which one could fire at the positions of the aggressors, one regrets that not to have thought, at this moment, of occupying those places by our small artillery, dividing the batteries; better protected artillerymen offering moreover a less vast target would have not only less suffered but even better answered. Moreover at the distances where shot complied it is the only smoke of the cannon shot which indicates its exact situation. Why, in that case, not to use a very simple guile consisting in firing here and there boxes of which explosion and smoke would aim to deceive all the time the enemy on the exact place of our artillery cannons. German who doubtless did not expect such a resistance weakened and went away foot little by little; however when the night came to interrupt battle they were pushed away but by two or 3 km. The last fires of mousqueteries stopped with the day. In summary the result of the battle of Autun was very important for us. The road of Creusot, the objective of German was closed them... "

When they arrived at Autun, the volunteers were surprised, then shocked by the army of Vosges : "they loved the purple, golden profusion on clothes and acrobats' suits …" They badly bore their behavior and the arrogance of the Italian general staff but also, the example of the colonel Cheney sentenced to death some days before with an obviously biased mind, had still increased the antipathies.

The colonel Lobbia very badly received JJGarnier in the point that he had to produce the precious certificate from the Ministry of War which authorized him to act as he would please, in a independent way. Provided with very good maps he had taken from a Prussian officer, he left with his people (confined as a precaution during the night in their barracks) in the night from 17 till 18 December. His mind was made up to cut immediately the railway track in the North of Dijon.

Indeed : "According to informations, the enemy was concentrated in Dijon with general Von Werder; from there he pushed daily southward to make there reconnaissances and requisitioning and waited for the right time to deliver battle to the armies of Cremer and Garibaldi, who, the one in Nuits, the other one in Autun, could not give hand each other rather quickly . Master of Dijon-Paris's railway, the enemy would still use it to receive reinforcements and even, one thought with some reason that determinedly he was just waiting to march on Lyon the arrival, by that railroad line, of some siege batteries. So this was an excellent occasion to use the torpedoes I had left "…

 Previous page (4)      Next page (6) 
created by LusoDev                   Copyright ® 2007 - Dr. Jacques Le Sire - Tél. : +33 (0)6 89 30 06 07                     Links

Version Française English version
 Ses origines  |  Voyage aller  |  Journal de marche  |  Volontaires 1870  |  Prospection  |  Usines & industrie  |  Voyage au Canada  
Volontaires 1870 (page 5)


Nous avons vu qu'en gare de Tours il avait été impossible de retrouver poudres et explosifs qui auraient dû accompagner le convoi. Par télégramme un jeune ingénieur de St Étienne avait bien voulu se charger de fabriquer ces torpilles et amorces. Il était attendu en gare de Nevers, hélas, la même mésaventure lui était arrivée et il ne pût retrouver dans son convoi qu'une seule caisse précieuse et suffisante en attendant.
Il faut savoir que, Garibaldi, arrivé à Tours le 8 octobre pour prêter son appui à la France avait été nommé général en chef, commandant la zone des Vosges dans laquelle se trouvaient alors quelques corps de volontaires et de mobilisés. Depuis, il s'était surtout occupé d'organiser son armée. Nous allons résumer les actions de cette armée du début novembre au début décembre et nous retrouverons à ce moment là notre narrateur et ses mineurs que nous avons laissés le 5 décembre en gare de Tours.

Dans la nuit du 9 au 10novembre dix huit trains de chemin de fer amenèrent de Dôle l'armée de Garibaldi à Autun dont il fit une excellente base d'opération. Dés le 25, il lança son armée dans une offensive qui l'amena par plusieurs succès à 50 kms au nord sous les murs de Dijon dont les avant-postes furent enlevés à la baïonnette mais le feu des batteries prussiennes sema tout à coup la panique sur ces troupes peu aguerries et cet audacieux coup de main se changea en débâcle et en retraite précipitée sur Autun contre laquelle le canon se mit à tonner dans l'après midi du 1° décembre. Alors eu lieu une scène de désordre indescriptible où les soldats cherchaient leurs armes et les officiers surpris -au café pour la plupart- ne savaient où se rendre : " … Tout semblait donc perdu lors que les artilleurs mobiles de la Charente auxquels appartenaient deux des batteries courent spontanément à leurs pièces, les amènent en face de l'ennemi, les braquent et ripostent. La plupart de ces braves gens n'avaient encore jamais assisté même à un exercice à feu et ils furent obligés, pour avoir des munitions de défoncer à coup de haches les caissons fermés à clef ou vissés. Cette vive riposte de notre artillerie rendit le courage, le sang froid au plus grand nombre. Quant à nos trois batteries, on les avait installées sur une esplanade qui s'étend au pied du petit séminaire ; de là elles dominaient admirablement toute l'armée assaillante mais leur champ de manœuvre était trop restreint; de plus, elles étaient complètement à découvert, aussi perdirent-elles en hommes 1/5e de l'effectif : dix-huit morts et 40 blessés. Ces trois batteries envoyèrent 1360 projectiles répondant aux allemands à peu près coup par coup.



 


Quand on connaît la position en amphithéâtre de la ville d'Autun où il est si facile de trouver de nombreux points desquels l'on pouvait alors canonner les positions des assaillants, on regrette que l'on n'ait pas songé à ce moment à les faire occuper par nos petits canons en divisant les batteries; les artilleurs mieux protégés, offrant d'ailleurs une cible moins vaste auraient non seulement moins souffert mais encore mieux répondu. D'ailleurs aux distances où le tir s'exécutait c'est la fumée seule du coup de canon qui indique sa situation exacte. Pourquoi, dans ce cas, ne pas employer une ruse bien simple consistant à faire partir ça et là des boîtes dont l'explosion et la fumée auraient pour but de tromper à chaque instant l'ennemi sur la situation exacte de nos pièces. Les allemands qui ne s'attendaient sans doute pas à une telle résistance faiblirent et lâchèrent pied peu à peu; cependant lorsque la nuit vint interrompre la bataille : on ne les avait repoussés que de deux ou 3 km Les derniers feux de mousqueteries cessèrent avec le jour. En résumé le résultat de la bataille d'Autun fût très important pour nous. La route du Creusot, l'objectif des allemands leur était fermée... "

Lorsqu'ils arrivèrent à Autun, les volontaires furent surpris puis choqués par l'armée des Vosges : " … ils aimaient la pourpre, profusion d'or sur les habits et costumes de saltimbanques… Ils supportaient mal leur inconduite et l'insolence de l'état major italien mais aussi l'exemple du colonel Chenet, condamné à mort quelques jours auparavant avec un esprit de parti évident, cet exemple avait encore accru les antipathies.

Le colonel Lobbia reçut très mal JJGarnier au point qu'il dût produire le précieux certificat du ministère de la guerre qui l'autorisait à agir à sa guise de façon indépendante. Muni de très bonnes cartes qu'il avait prises à un officier prussien (!), il partit dans la nuit du 17 au 18 décembre avec ses hommes- consignés par prudence pendant la nuit dans leur caserne-. Sa résolution était prise de couper aussitôt la ligne ferrée au nord de Dijon.

En effet : "… D'après les renseignements, l'ennemi était concentré et Dijon avec le général Von Werder; de là il poussait des pointes journalières vers le sud pour y faire des reconnaissances et des réquisitions et n'attendait qu'un moment favorable pour livrer bataille aux armées de Cremer et de Garibaldi, qui, l'une à Nuits, l'autre à Autun, ne pouvait se donner assez rapidement la main. Maître de la ligne de Dijon à Paris, l'ennemi l'utiliserait encore pour recevoir des renforts et l'on pensait même avec quelque raison qu'il n'attendait pour marcher résolument sur Lyon que l'arrivée par cette ligne ferrée de quelques batteries de siège. C'était donc une excellente occasion pour utiliser les torpilles qui me restaient."

 Page précédente (4)      Page suivante (6) 
créé par LusoDev                   Copyright ® 2007 - Dr. Jacques Le Sire - Tél. : +33 (0)6 89 30 06 07                     Infos légales | Liens