Version Française English version
 His origins  |  Travel to go  |  Diary  |  Volunteers 1870  |  Prospection  |  Factories & Industry  |  Travel to Canada  
Volunteers 1870 (page 8)


Telegrams sent by JJGarnier and general Bordonne cross each other on January 19, 1871. The first advises about the concentration and about the strong Prussian troops as a sign of an impending attack on Dijon, the other requesting destruction of Buffon's bridge which, entrusted to another company, had not been successful. "Such are circumstances when, at 9 o'clock in the morning, as each one of us expected it least, the cannon began thundering with violence against the city of Dijon on which the Prussian opened an intense fire by the means of batteries which they had established with no hassle on Hauteville's heights which they just captured, meeting no resistance... Furthermore, our generals still ratified here ancient tactics but bound to disappear which consists in strengthening on the perimeter of the cities which one wants to defend, exposing them to fire and in the destruction by the enemy projectiles whereas, besides, the frightened inhabitants, losing any patriotism, do not encourage any more " garnisaires" to the resistance provided even they do not become hostile. ''

Attacks on enemies rear by volunteers whom elements of scattered brigades not presenting any more real utility had joined in, they go into Dijon at nightfall. After all, the resistance of the besieged overcame enemy forces and the defense of Dijon was a military success because three successive attacks had been pushed away. During the days which followed these attacks we received the order to go at once in the northwest of Côte-d'Or, to Buffon, to destroy there the railroad bridge at Armançon. The destruction of this bridge was very important, because, being placed below the railroad trains junction from the east and of those from Paris to Lyon, everything that germans sent to our occupied southern provinces either from Germany, or from Paris went trough there.

At the same time as we did, another expedition in charge of blowing up Nuit-sous-Ravière's bridge situated some kilometers only from that of Buffon had to leave from Dijon. " … Roads were covered with ice so much that our mules themselves, in spite of ice nails which were put back as often as possible had some difficulty to stand; it is true that the poor animals were extraordinarily loaded. Each one carried two torpedoes of 50 kg each (equivalent to 600 kg of common powder) without counting other miscellaneous instruments; but, more to pity than them were, maybe, our muleteers because, besides the long journeys we made every day, they had to, arriving at the long break of the middle of the day or at the end of the stopover to begin the unloading of mules, find a place for them, to groom them and finally reload them for the departure; these poor people often had no time to sleep and even less to eat; one will still understand better their weariness when we will see farther the extraordinary journeys in which we had to be engaged in during this expedition. It is true that I had chosen them all among the youngest and the best of this race so strong of the carriers of the coalmines who, every day standing at three o'clock in the morning, stops the evening at six o'clock only his painful work … "

The whole operation was led with an extreme caution, the enemy being on one's guard and very watchful because he was well aware of the main stake in this communication route . The night was without stars. An inhabitant very trustworthy, given by the mayor, guided them and two true marksmen, disguised as farmers directed operation by agreed signals:

"The campaign covered with night shadows, was then plunged into a profound silence; the barkings of a dog arrived however at our ears; they indicated to us that this watchful guard had aired our scouts. We should not delay receiving a signal. My men were divided into brigades; them some interrupted telegraphic communications, the others placed torpedoes under rails, finally the rest took charge of the main mission that is the work of destruction of the very bridge. One quarter of an hour after our arrival on the bridge our torpedoes were placed, each withdrew at a certain distance and I stayed with the lieutenant Caulry to fire wicks. A moment later, a formidable explosion burst; the noise echoed it from valley to valley as would have done the most violent thunderclaps that one can hear…prussians understood at first what it was about, but being unaware of our number, they did not dare to attack us before having gathered their forces and especially before having clarified the situation. So while we proceeded to the putting in of new torpedoes on second arch, we perceived lights which moved around in different directions : they were signals which our enemies made from village to village. There was no time to lose...

So my mission was over and we only thought of leaving the départment of Côte d'Or, in which, in spite of the armistice, state of war still existed and where the enemy was billeted in great number… By the paragraph which follows JJGarnier ends the story of a short but terrible war of 8 months. He appears very concerned informing and honoring whom it may :

"I had ended my task ; let us hope it has reached the double purpose that I intended to : Let us hope I have brought some documents to the one that will begin a day the story of this unfortunate period of our history and I wish I can again remind faithfully in these pages, my brave officers and in our faithful volunteers of the days of fatigue and fights which we spent together in the service of the most noble of causes, that of the safety of the invaded homeland ! By reading again the details of some works which we carried out, they will find maybe less bitterness to think of our misfortunes because they will have at least the consciousness to have made all their efforts to resist to the invaders.
"Among the elements without which I would not have extended such a story along all these pages there is that real life experience of honesty, of clear-sightedness and this concern of objectivity of which I give last interesting features :

"I had the occasion to talk since the war with German officers; here is a summary of their opinion upon us which I consider interesting to give : " Your infantry, they said to me, is excellent and especially struck us of the biggest admiration at Wœrth. Officers from this unit, much criticized by their fellow countrymen are brave, solid, dragging and educated enough to perform their functions; here there is, for the future, a fearsome breeding-ground of excellent generals. As for the chiefs of units whom we had to deal with, we grant them to you, they even had no instinct to use the admirable and irresistible run-up of their troops. On the evening of Gravelotte and the evening of Borny our generals were heavily surprised; a strong attack of your part the next day would have found us ready to retreat; far from that, it is you who decided it. As for your cavalry, we found it little exercised, rather badly mounted, having horses accustomed to move on the ground of operation but not in the middle of the obstacles of battlefields. Your artillery is led well but accessories are lacking totally and, while after a day of fight our empty boxes were immediately restocked, we noticed almost always the opposite at you. " I give these appreciations for what they can be worth."

Previous page (7) 
created by LusoDev                   Copyright ® 2007 - Dr. Jacques Le Sire - Tél. : +33 (0)6 89 30 06 07                     Links

Version Française English version
 Ses origines  |  Voyage aller  |  Journal de marche  |  Volontaires 1870  |  Prospection  |  Usines & industrie  |  Voyage au Canada  
Volontaires 1870 (page 8)


Les dépêches envoyées par JJGarnier et le général Bordonne se croisent le 19 janvier 1871. La première informe de la concentration et du déplacement de fortes troupes prussiennes laissant présager d'une attaque imminente sur Dijon, l'autre demande que soit détruit le pont de Buffon ce qui, confié à une autre compagnie, n'avait pas réussi. "Telle était notre situation lorsque à 9 heures du matin, au moment où chacun de nous s'y attendait le moins, le canon se mit à tonner avec violence contre la ville de Dijon sur laquelle les prussiens ouvraient un feu intense au moyen des batteries qu'ils avaient établies tout à l'aise sur les hauteurs de Hauteville dont ils venaient de s'emparer à peu près sans coup férir... De plus, nos généraux sanctionnaient encore ici une tactique ancienne mais destinée à disparaître qui consiste à se fortifier sur le périmètre même des villes que l'on veut défendre, les exposant ainsi à l'incendie et à la destruction par les projectiles ennemis tandis que, par ailleurs, les habitants effrayés, perdant tout patriotisme, n'encouragent plus les garnisaires à la résistance pourvu même qu'ils ne leur deviennent pas hostiles."

Les attaques sur les arrières ennemies des volontaires auxquels s'étaient joints des éléments de brigades dispersées ne présentant plus d'utilité véritable, ils rentrent dans Dijon à la nuit tombante. En fin de compte, la résistance des assiégés vint à bout des forces ennemies et la défense de Dijon fût un succès militaire puisque trois attaques successives avaient été repoussées. "Pendant les jours qui y suivirent ces attaques... nous reçûmes l'ordre de nous rendre immédiatement dans le nord-ouest de la côte-d'or, à Buffon, pour y détruire le pont de chemin de fer sur l'Armançon. La destruction de ce pont était fort importante, car, étant placé en dessous de la soudure des chemins de fer de l'est et de celui de Paris à Lyon, tout ce que les allemands envoyaient dans nos provinces méridionales occupées soit de l'Allemagne, soit de Paris passait par-là.

En même temps que nous, devait partir de Dijon une autre expédition chargée de faire sauter le pont de Nuit-sous-Ravière situé quelques kilomètres seulement de celui de Buffon.… Les chemins étaient couverts de glace au point que nos mulets eux-mêmes, malgré les clous à glace qu'on leur faisait remettre aussi souvent que possible avaient peine à se tenir; il est vrai que les pauvres animaux était extraordinairement chargés. Ils portaient chacun deux torpilles de 50 kg l'une (équivalant à 600 kg de poudre ordinaire) sans compter divers autres instruments ; mais, plus à plaindre qu'eux étaient peut-être nos muletiers car, outre les longs trajets que nous faisions chaque jour, ils devaient, en arrivant à la grande halte du milieu de la journée ou à la fin de l'étape commencer le déchargement des mulets s'occuper ensuite de les loger, de les panser et enfin de les recharger pour le départ ; ces pauvres gens n'avaient souvent par le temps de dormir et encore moins de manger ; on comprendra mieux encore leurs fatigues quand on verra plus loin les courses extraordinaires auxquels nous dûmes nous livrer pendant cette expédition. Il est vrai que je les avais tous choisis parmi les plus jeunes et les meilleurs de cette race si vigoureuse des voituriers des houillères qui, chaque jour debout à trois heures du matin, ne suspend que le soir à six heures son pénible travail…"

Toute l'opération fût menée avec une extrême prudence, l'ennemi étant sur ses gardes et très vigilant car il était au courant de l'enjeu essentiel de cette voie de communication. La nuit était sans étoiles. Un habitant très sur, confié par le maire, les guidait et deux francs tireurs, déguisés en paysans orientaient la manœuvre par des signaux convenus :

"La campagne couverte des ombres de la nuit, était alors plongée dans un profond silence; les aboiements d'un chien arrivèrent cependant à nos oreilles; ils nous indiquaient que ce gardien vigilant avait éventé nos éclaireurs. Nous ne pouvions tarder à recevoir un signal. Mes hommes étaient divisés en brigades; les uns interrompaient les communications télégraphiques, les autres plaçaient des torpilles sous les rails, enfin le reste s'occupait de la mission principale c'est à dire l'œuvre de destruction du pont lui-même. Un quart d'heure après notre arrivée sur le pont nos torpilles étaient placées, chacun se retira à une certaine distance et je restai avec le lieutenant Caulry pour enflammer les mèches. Un instant après, une explosion formidable retentît ; le bruit s'en répercuta de vallée en vallée comme le fait un des plus violents coups de tonnerre que l'on puisse entendre... les prussiens comprirent de suite de quoi il s'agissait mais ignorant notre nombre ils n'osèrent nous attaquer avant d'avoir réuni leurs forces et surtout avant d'avoir éclairé la situation. Aussi, pendant que nous procédions à la pose de nouvelles torpilles sur seconde arche, nous aperçûmes des lumières qui s'agitaient dans diverses directions : c'était des signaux que se faisaient nos ennemis de village à village. Il n'y avait pas de temps à perdre...

Ma mission était donc terminée et nous ne pensions plus qu'à quitter le département de la Côte d'Or, dans lequel, malgré l'Armistice, l'état de guerre existait encore et où l'ennemi s'était cantonné en grand nombre… " Par le paragraphe qui suit JJGarnier termine le récit d'une courte mais terrible guerre de huit mois. Il s'y montre préoccupé d'informer et d'honorer qui de droit : "J'ai terminé ma tâche ; puisse-t-elle avoir atteint le double but que je me suis proposé :puissé-je avoir apporté quelques documents à celui qui entreprendra un jour le récit détaillé de cette malheureuse période de notre histoire et puissé-je encore rappeler fidèlement dans ces pages, à mes braves officiers et à nos dévoués volontaires, les jours de fatigue et de luttes que nous avons passés ensemble au service de la plus noble des causes, celle du salut de sa patrie envahie ! En relisant les détails des quelques travaux que nous avons accomplis, ils trouveront peut-être moins d'amertume à songer à nos malheurs car ils auront au moins la conscience d'avoir fait tous leurs efforts pour résister aux envahisseurs.

Parmi les facteurs sans lesquels je n'aurais pas prolongé un tel récit sur toutes ces pages il y a ce vécu d'honnêteté, de clairvoyance et ce souci d'efficacité dont je donne un dernier trait intéressant :

"J'ai eu l'occasion de causer depuis la guerre avec des officiers allemands; voici un résumé de leur opinion sur nous que je crois intéressant de donner : " Votre infanterie, me disaient-ils, est excellente et nous a surtout frappés de la plus grande admiration à Wœrth. Les officiers de cette arme sont trop critiqués par leurs compatriotes ; ils sont braves, solides, entraînants et suffisamment instruits pour remplir leurs fonctions; il y a là, pour l'avenir, une redoutable pépinière d'excellents généraux. Quant aux chefs de corps auxquels nous avons eu affaire, nous vous les accordons, ils n'avaient pas même l'instinct d'utiliser l'admirable et irrésistible élan de leurs troupes. Le soir de Gravelotte et le soir de Borny nos généraux étaient déconcertés; une attaque vigoureuse de votre part le lendemain nous aurait trouvés prêts la retraite; loin de là, c'est vous qui prenez ce parti.

Quant à votre cavalerie, nous la trouvâmes peu exercée, assez mal montée, ayant des chevaux habitués à se mouvoir sur le terrain de manœuvre mais non au milieu des obstacles des champs de bataille. Votre artillerie est bien menée mais les accessoires lui font totalement défaut et, pendant qu'après une journée de combat nos caissons vides étaient aussitôt regarnis, nous remarquions presque toujours le contraire chez vous. " Je donne ces appréciations pour ce qu'elles peuvent valoir."

Page précédente (7) 
créé par LusoDev                   Copyright ® 2007 - Dr. Jacques Le Sire - Tél. : +33 (0)6 89 30 06 07                     Infos légales | Liens