Version Française English version
 His origins  |  Travel to go  |  Diary  |  Volunteers 1870  |  Prospection  |  Factories & Industry  |  Travel to Canada  
Travel to go (page 2)


These journeys were then unlimited; one did not know to take advantage of or to avoid them those currents of the sea so regular in their walking that our rivers; direction and intensity of winds in every place and every moment of the year were far from being determined as they are today : that is with an almost mathematical precision; one did not know how to avoid neither the regions of calms and one would run a risk, between the tropics to be left in place, still as a cliff, during several months. In all these difficulties of the journey, it was necessary to join formerly the lack of fresh foods … Today one knows how to keep food with as such art that after long journeys they do not almost lose anything of their primitive savor.



On land "excellent news" waited for the passengers: the river Nile having overflowed in the point to cover the railroad from Alexandria to Cairo, it was possible to visit Alexandria, Péluse's ruins and its subterranean mummies, Cléopâtra's monoliths and of Pompey while the load of the steamer was transported on the back of camels up to Suez.


"So, from Alexandria to Cairo, it was necessary to follow a particular route to cross isthmus and to go on the edge of the Nile to the village of KafreZaya's…There, a small steamer had to get back up the river up to Cairo, steered by natives who made noisily but actively their job "… As soon as the sun had abandoned us we slowed down noticeably the speed of the vessel.


It was not easy matter that not to lose the channel, furthermore, one thousand various litter, vegetables, trees, carcasses of wild and domestic animals passed, taken by this vast and wild current … As long as it was daylight, one could not only go with exactness but still avoid striking the steamer against thousand debris transported by the river; we had passed in the day close to gigantic trunks which, alone, weighed maybe more than our vessel and its load and would have been able easily enough to sink us immediately.... Our pilots hurried up in front, the body half tilted outside the vessel, lit with the flame of torches, these half-bare beings, showing a black skin seemed to us fantastic… we watch curiously running away far off and fading gradually in darkness the cause of our first terrors: sometimes it was a mess of trees which formed an immense raft, sometimes a sort of island of which the violence of waters had managed to remove from end of some moor of ground and which, carrying a fragment of forest still fixed on a heap of sheets, humus, roots, followed the stream of the water swirling around …"

 Previous page (1)      Next page (3) 
created by LusoDev                   Copyright ® 2007 - Dr. Jacques Le Sire - Tél. : +33 (0)6 89 30 06 07                     Links

Version Française English version
 Ses origines  |  Voyage aller  |  Journal de marche  |  Volontaires 1870  |  Prospection  |  Usines & industrie  |  Voyage au Canada  
Voyage aller (page2)


Ces voyages étaient alors sans fin; on ne connaissait pas pour en profiter ou les fuir ces courants de la mer aussi réguliers dans leur marche que nos fleuves; la direction et l'intensité des vents dans chaque lieu et à chaque moment de l'année étaient loin d'être déterminées comme elles le sont aujourd'hui, c'est à dire avec une précision presque mathématique; on ne savait point éviter non plus les régions des calmes et on courrait le risque, entre les tropiques, d'être laissé en place, immobile comme un rocher, pendant plusieurs mois. À toutes ces difficultés du voyage, il fallait joindre autrefois le manque de vivres frais… Aujourd'hui on sait conserver les aliments avec tant d'art qu'après de longs voyages ils n'ont presque rien perdu de leur saveur primitive…".


À terre une "excellente nouvelle" attendait les passagers : le Nil ayant débordé au point de recouvrir la voie ferrée d'Alexandrie au Caire, il fut possible de visiter Alexandrie, les ruines de Péluse et ses momies souterraines, les monolithes de Cléopâtre et de Pompée pendant que la cargaison du steamer était transportée à dos de chameau jusqu'à Suez.

"Ainsi, d'Alexandrie au Caire, il fallut suivre un itinéraire particulier pour traverser l'isthme et aller sur le bord du Nil au village de Kafre-Zaya. Là, un petit steamer devait remonter le fleuve jusqu'au Caire, dirigé par des indigènes qui faisaient bruyamment mais activement leur besogne… Dés que le soleil nous eut abandonnés on ralentit sensiblement l'allure du navire.


by courtesy of University of Texas


Ce n'était pas chose facile que de ne pas perdre le chenal, de plus, mille débris de toute sorte, des végétaux, des arbres, des cadavres d'animaux sauvages et domestiques passaient, emportés par ce vaste et impétueux courant… Tant qu'il faisait jour, on pouvait non seulement se diriger avec exactitude mais encore éviter de heurter le steamer contre les mille débris que charriait le fleuve ; nous avions passé dans la journée auprès de troncs d'arbres gigantesques qui, à eux seuls, pesaient peut-être plus que notre navire et sa cargaison et auraient largement suffi à nous couler instantanément... Nos pilotes se pressaient à l'avant, le corps à demi penché hors du navire, … éclairés par la flamme des torches, ces êtres demi-nus, montrant une peau noire nous semblaient fantastiques… nous regardions curieusement s'enfuir au loin et s'effacer peu à peu dans les ténèbres la cause de nos terreurs premières : tantôt c'était un enchevêtrement d'arbres qui formaient un radeau immense, tantôt une sorte d'îlot que la violence des eaux avait réussi à détacher de l'extrémité de quelque lande de terre et qui, portant un fragment de foret encore fixé sur un amas de feuilles, d'humus, de racines, suivait le fil de l'eau en tournoyant…".

 Page précédente (1)      Page suivante (3) 
créé par LusoDev                   Copyright ® 2007 - Dr. Jacques Le Sire - Tél. : +33 (0)6 89 30 06 07                     Infos légales | Liens